LATEST CONTENT

Home » Latest Content »
A new book reveals how worlds are invented in Game of Thrones and other series

20

April 18, 2017

HANDOVER 2016-117 Randy Ellefson, CREATING LIFE, The Art of World Building book1May 2, 2017 (GAITHERSBURG, MARYLAND) – With the seventh season of HBO’s Game of Thrones fast approaching, it’s once again time to reconnect with a world other than our own, this time in a new, behind-the-scenes way. Fans of A Song of Fire and Ice, Harry Potter, Avatar, and other fantasy stories have often wondered how writers like George R. R. Martin, J. K. Rowling, and James Cameron conceive rich fantasy worlds. A new book published by Evermore Press reveals the thought process behind such creative work.

Creating Life is the first volume in The Art of World Building series. It discusses how to invent gods, species/races, monsters, plants, animals, and even undead like White Walkers or Death Eaters. The book shows the secrets that authors, screenwriters, game designers, and hobbyists use to do world building, the term for creating imaginary places.

World building is necessary but time consuming work for speculative fiction and can make or break a story. And yet every minute spent on it means less time for writing. Creating Life promises to make this easier, faster, and more skillfully done for inventors, elevating their results above the competition. For the fan of speculative fiction, an unusual look into the process is gained and could change how they enjoy their favorite stories.

“Audiences love feeling smart about the media they consume,” says Randy Ellefson, author of Creating Life. “Why not watch the next season of Game of Thrones with insider knowledge of just how good Martin’s Westeros really is? And if he makes a mistake, like breaking the Rule of Three, now you’ll catch it.”

Fantasy and science fiction author Ellefson has been world building for three decades and uses his own experience to guide readers through how such enormous projects are undertaken. Examples are also drawn from famous works. Techniques to be emulated or avoided are discussed and reveal how careful storytellers must be.

Creating Life includes seven templates to aid world builders in being thorough, quick, and inspired to invent; the templates can be downloaded by anyone who joins The Art of World Building newsletter from the official site, whether they’ve purchased Creating Life or not. Volumes 2 and 3, Creating Places and Cultures & Beyond, will soon follow.

To order books individually or in bulk:
Creating Life is available May 2, 2017 via all major book retailers, including Amazon, iTunes, Barnes and Nobles, Smashwords, CreateSpace, and Kobo.

For bulk orders or to request a review copy, contact mail@randyellefson.com.

Visit http://www.artofworldbuilding.com/press for a media kit, including high resolution images.

About the Author:
Randy Ellefson has been building worlds for three decades and began his career in 2016 with the publication of a novella, The Ever Fiend (Talon Stormbringer). He has been published in Bewildering Stories, and the Writers of the Future contest has recognized him three times. Creating Life is his first major release.

Ellefson’s official site: http://www.randyellefson.com
Twitter: http://twitter.com/randyellefson
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com\RandyEllefsonAuthor
Hastags: #fantasy #scifi #author #writing

More About This Title:
Creating Life (The Art of World Building, #1) by Randy Ellefson will be released by Evermore Press on May 2, 2017. Creating Life (ISBN 978-1946995018) has 202 pages and is being sold as a trade paperback for $19.99, and as an eBook for $5.99.

About Evermore Press:
Founded in 2014, Evermore Press publishes fantasy, science fiction and related non-fiction books.

Media Contact Details
Randy Ellefson, Evermore Press, LLC
Gaithersburg, United States
3019472847
FOR MORE INFORMATION, contact Randy Ellefson at
page-up
Contact
PR Fire
c/o Custard Online Marketing
Fourways House
57 Hilton House
Manchester
M1 2EJ

Copyright text

Copyright © 2016 Desert Igloo Ltd t/a PR Fire

Social links